By Allan Powell.

On Saturday night at Huntly and Te Rapa PlaceMakers Speedway was the annual running of the Holden Trade Club presented by Valvoline Saloon Speedweek series.This show is run over 5 consecutive nights starting at Stratford speedway on boxing day through to the final meeting at Huntly on 30th December. It is a shame that the two previous night’s racing at Meeanee/Napier Speedway and Gisborne speedway were rained out. Thousands of litres of water was poured into the track surface. Cars were split into 3 groups which each other group over three heats. First up was the Holden Trade Club Helter Skelter race for all the cars. No driver knew who would win the $1000 up for grabs cause drawn out of the hat was the finishing order of 6th spot. This was won by 21H Steve Williams. First heat was for the groups Valvoline Monidale verse The Moving Company groups and this was won by 77G Ethan Cook. Second heat was Valvoline Monidale verse Chemwash and won by 74A Scott Lansdowne. Third and final heat was The Moving Company verse Chemwash and this heat was won by 21H Steve Williams.
Next up was the 8 car pole shuffle. 7th and 8th positions on points scored during the heats was first up then on down to the driver on top points. After the pole shuffle was completed it was time for the 20 lap final. 2NZ Paddy North from Blenheim had pole over 49M Brodie Abrahamson. In third spot was 8S Craig Korff and his brother 16S Thomas Kroff in the 4th spot. Paddy North took the lead from the start but was pushed very hard by Abrahamson. On lap 5 21T Graham Williamson hit the wall hard on turn 3 and damaging front suspension and out of the race. At the restart North again started to pull away from the field till the finish and the win from 77G Ethan Cook with Cook showing good driving all night. Home in 3rd was Brodie Abrahamson, 4th 46S Daniel Hinton and 5th place 8S Craig Korff. Overall points for the whole series winner was Paddy North 367 points, 2nd Daniel Hinton 341 points, 3rd Brodie Abrahamson 4th Thomas Korff on 322 points.
Second part of the double header for the night was the NZ Dirt Track Mini Sprint Cup. A small number of cars but their racing is close and fast. 2NZ Dean Cooper from Palmerston North won all 2 heats and the feature. 57H Ben Vaughan and 41P Shane Dewar push Cooper hard all night with Cooper setting a new lap record for Mini Sprints of 13.653 second which is pretty fast in a Mini Sprint.
Next meeting at Huntly PlaceMakers Speedway is tomorrow night Monday 1st January 2018 and starting at 6pm. This event is the United Truck Parts International Midget series. The best midget drivers in the world will be at Huntly .Six top drivers from USA are here including Nascar Sprintcar driver Kyle Larson winner of the World 30 lap derby at Western Springs last night. Spencer Bayston, Tyler Courtney ‘Sunshine’, Alex Bright, Tyler Thomas, Zach Duam who recently won the 40 lap Midget race at Huntly in early December. From Australia we have Michael Stewart, Dayne Kingshott and Kaidon Brown. New Zealand has a long list of superstar drivers which include 1NZ Michael Pickens, 2NZ Brad Mosen, Brock Maskovich, Shane Alach, Hayden Guptill, Chris McCutcheon and Huntly`s own Michael Brunt. Over 30 midgets will be trackside. Support classes on the night will be TQ Midgets, Stock Cars and Ministocks. More information on the Huntly Speedway website.

Nascar's Kyle Larson wins round three at Western Springs Speedway Photo: Jeremy Ward /

Nascar’s Kyle Larson wins round three at Western Springs Speedway
Photo: Jeremy Ward /

Tyler Courtney wins round two at Baypark Speedway Photo: Jeremy Ward /

Tyler Courtney wins round two at Baypark Speedway
Photo: Jeremy Ward /

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!